Review: Trader Joe’s Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Butter and Sage

by shenaniganswithkitty

So, occasionally I cheat and Trader Joe’s frozen section comes to the rescue. When I saw the package, I knew it was the beginning of a beautiful friendship. I have recently discovered that I love all things sweet potato, and have been trying to eat more of the delicious tuber. Plus the butter and sage doesn’t hurt anything. Also, its a dinner for two priced at $2.99.

The instructions say that the heating process takes only 8-9 minutes on the stove top but I disagree. After 4 minutes on medium low heat it was still an iceberg so I covered it for 3 minutes and turned the heat up to the midway point. That seemed to help and it turned into smaller icebergs.

After letting it cook another 5 minutes the gnocchi separated fully and got nice and GBD (Golden Brown and Delicious, an Alton Brown-ism). I let them cook a little longer, because some pieces were still mushy. In that time I used my box grater’s slicing side to flake some parmigiano reggiano. I topped the finished gnocchi with the flakes and I used my kitchen scissors to snip some scallions on top of the dish.

The Results

The gnocchi was soft and delicate, with a strong sweet potato and browned butter flavor. In my opinion, it was quite delicious, and the parmigiano really filled out the dish. The other gnocchi I have tasted usually has a firmer texture, but I didn’t mind the softness. The cook time on the package is incorrect, it takes 15 minutes total rather than 9. Also, the package makes enough for 2 people to have as a main dish. If you used it as a side, it would have served 3, as the package states. I think it makes a great quick meal for 2 for a low price.

Rating

I give it a 4 out of 5 stars.

